Evolving Thoughts About Trump’s Election and Coming to Terms With It

Did the media do this?

I didn’t vote for him. I admit my vote was more against him than for anyone. We had really crappy choices. Maybe it was because of how the media portrayed everyone this election cycle. I have only given it a passing thought that it was the media being out of control.
 
That said, I think it’s stupid for people, whether it be Republicans, Democrats, or any other party to say about our past presidents, current president or future presidents that “he’s not MY president.” Yeah, unless you’re giving up your citizenship, all presidents are OUR presidents. I do reserve the right to say “I didn’t vote for him” if he screws up or does something stupid, tries to do something illegal or unconstitutional, etc. I just hope that the divisive, bigoted rhetoric we heard from the campaign was just not a true portrayal of who he is and what he stands for. I hope that he simply got caught up in his inexperience and just said what he *thought* people wanted to hear. (Hint: most of it wasn’t!) Side note: does anyone else see him as the awkward teenager who still laughs at fart jokes when everyone else got over it when they were ten? LOL
 
We need him to prove to us and the world that he’s not the horrible person we’ve been shown. I am willing to give him a chance, though. But if he screws up, I’m also reserving my right to say, “I told you so.”  
Leave a Reply

